The Edden Family

Vero Beach, FL
$0.00 raised of $9,032.64
Mortgage/Rent $3,984.00
0%
6 months
$
USD
Format: 9.99
Car Payment $3,248.64
0%
6 months
$
USD
Format: 9.99
Medical Bills $1,800.00
0%
6 months
$
USD
Format: 9.99
Add the amounts you would like to contribute to each funding goal before clicking "Donate".
ShareTweetShareEmail
    Name
    Marlene Edden
    Injury/Illness
    Autoimmune Disease

    Hello,

    My name is Marlene Edden, and I am 48 years old. On a good day, I enjoy laughing with my husband of 30 years, spending time with my family, serving in church and the community, and caring for my lawn and garden. But lately I have had very few good days. After seven years of visiting emergency rooms and specialists – neurologists, endocrinologists, gastroenterologists, cardiologists, radiologists, gynecologists, immunologists, and rheumatologists -- I finally have a diagnosis. I have a condition known as dysautonomia.

    Dysautonomia is a group of conditions which arise from problems with the Autonomic Nervous System (ANS). The ANS controls things like heartbeat, blood pressure, breathing, digestion, and temperature control. This explains why I have sometimes felt painfully cold and why other times my heart has beat so hard and rapidly (one time for 4 hours) that I have had to go to the Emergency Room, hoping that I won’t need another cardioversion performed. Other symptoms I experience are difficulty breathing, weakness, aching, GI pain, and migraines. Needless to say, dysautonomia is incredibly debilitating. It is not something there is a cure for, but the discomfort can be decreased with regular doctor-patient communication and lifestyle and nutrition adjustment. This is why I am asking for help. There are very few dysautonomia treatment centers. I have found a doctor who specializes in dysautonomia; however, he does not take Medicaid and I do not have any other insurance due to my inability to work consistently.

    Those of you who know me well know that working hard and contributing to the family’s income make me very happy. In early 2020, when Covid hit the hospitality industry, I was let go from my job as a front desk clerk at a local hotel, which had to close for a time. The next day, I got a job at Publix as a cashier with the very exciting potential of moving up in the company. As the dysautonomia grew worse, I could no longer go to work on a regular basis. I started a T-shirt making company from home but the days on which I am able to work are unpredictable. My husband does work at Publix but adding me to his insurance is cost-prohibitive unfortunately. My daughters are working to try and help supplement the family’s income but due to mounting medical costs, we are behind on bills and need your help. I never like asking for money, but in order to manage my dysautonomia, I need to do just that. In addition to your prayers, which I covet, anything you can give monetarily would be greatly, greatly appreciated.

     

    Thank you so very much. May God richly bless you.

    Marlene

    There are no family updates.